Home > Council and democracy > Freedom of the Borough

Freedom of the Borough

The Freedom of the Borough is the highest award that the council can bestow.

It is a power that is very rarely used and is normally only awarded to local people who have in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Borough.

The award of the Honorary Freedom of the Borough does not convey with it any legal rights or responsibilities, other than a ceremonial role at civic functions. The award dates back to the middle ages when Freemen had commercial privileges and a route into a position of power in a town or city.

A list of Honorary Freeman/Freewoman is shown below:

Name Year
The Marquis of Anglesey GCVO 1912
Ald. Thomas Jenkins JP 1935
Ald. George Hill JB 1935
Ald. Alfred John Thornley JP 1935
Ald. John Gretton PC CBE 1943
Ald. William Henry Giles JP 1949
Ald. William Hutson JP 1949
Sir Francis Raymond Evershed PC 1951
Ald. Joseph William Clark JP 1953
Ald. George Edward Rider 1960
Ald. James Henry Jones JP 1960
Ald. Horace Leonard Pritchard 1974
Ald. Geoffrey Thomas Osborne 1974
Staffordshire Fire & Rescue 1998
Mr Frederick William Saunders OBE 2005
Mr Ben Robinson 2010
Mrs Noreen Oliver MBE 2011
Burton Amateur Boxing Club 2012
Adam Peaty 2016